A Harvest Festival sort of cake that I happened to make in May

20130601-182659.jpg

The chain of thought that led to this cake was: I have had that flower cake mould that I bought from that shop that does silicone moulds for a while and have not used it for anything yet. That is a shame. I have mucked my book group about, they are nice people, and they deserve cake. The last time I thought about using that mould I was going to try to do like a jelly or something with yellow radiating from the centre. Hey, what about something with saffron in it?

The recipe I used is here.

I did worry for a little while that I’d got the wrong type of polenta (easy cook version) and that it’d be terribly gritty but it was fine. Orange juice for the syrup was just a from-concentrate tetra pak and none the worse for it. I didn’t bother serving the fruits in syrup, though I think some cream or yoghurt with a tiny bit of orange flower water whipped through it wouldn’t be a bad addition. Not much more to say here – it looked nice, tasted beautiful and I believe for those of you who are affected by such considerations it is gluten free.

One thought on “A Harvest Festival sort of cake that I happened to make in May

Leave a Reply

